NCAA: San Beda leads junior taekwondo speed kicking event

MANILA, Philippines – San Beda won three gold medals in the taekwondo sprint kicking competition in the NCAA season 96 junior division on Monday.

Louell Mamaclay (light middleweight), Philip Joshua Lee (lightweight) and bantamweight Ignatius Vicente Lorenzo Pinera (bantamweight) took gold in their respective weight class for San Beda.

Mamaclay collected 6,500 points to beat John Cris Samson of College Emilio Aguinaldo and Dexter Macasa and CSB-LSGH, who finished with 6.458 and 6.383 respectively.

Lee recorded 7,083 points to finish ahead of the EAC duo of Leigh Cyril Aslarona (6,108) and Aubrey Gacilos (5,942)

Pinera, meanwhile, dominated with 6.750 points to edge Lyceum’s Dirk Ranque (6.483) and Letran’s LeBron James Alemania (6.200).

San Beda also won a pair of silver medals thanks to flyweight Reymundo Calamba III and heavyweight Jian Alden Jose Arceo, while welterweight Seth Nathaniel Go and featherweight Marlex Mercado took home bronze medals.
CSB-LSGH came second behind San Beda with two gold medals thanks to welterweight Victor Emmanuel Rodriguez Raphael Ongkiko while light middleweight Javier Dexter Macasaet provided the bronze medal for the Greenies.

Featherweight Luke Morel of Letran, flyweight John Patrick Moneda of Lyceum and heavyweight Joshua Lyndon Dionio of Lyceum also won gold medals in the four-day tournament.

The senior sprint kicking competition kicks off on Tuesday with the men’s division running until June 29, while the women’s section is played from June 30 to July 5.


Read more

Don’t miss the latest news and information.

To subscribe to REQUEST MORE to access The Philippine Daily Inquirer and over 70 titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download from 4 a.m. and share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For comments, complaints or inquiries, Contact us.

Previous Nasarawa government promises to develop karate
Next Kelly Felix's boxing strength is her mental game | Local

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.